FEAR

It catches me unawares
This feeling of being scared.

It falls from the sky in shards of ice
Filling me up chilly cold with red hot spice

Of anxiety and anxiousness
Cold sweat on my skin, tightness

In my heart, I wish I weren’t so afraid
Of the worries and trouble I’ve made

As I work my way upwards, reaching for a sky
So high I feel…as if it’s almost a lie

But I don’t want to stop
When I’m so far yet so near to the sun rays of the top

I want this so much, I have no words to express
The fear, anxiety, distress

Is it worth it? I wonder
Should hope so, the voice in my head ponders…

As I face a bright new day
Though the sun fades, its heat dying, it’s still warm in May.

**Note: Dear All, I have been horrendously negligent of my blog this year and for that I’m really sorry!  I have been so busy with postgraduate research and teaching as well as working on a writing project that I haven’t had a chance to pop in.  In saying that, I think too, I have been short of inspiration for things ro write on here and thus took an unexplained leave of absence.  For those reasons, not all worthy! I apologise and hope you’ll still stop by my blog 🙂 I hope to revisit my favourite readers and follower and visit new blogs soon!  Enjoy my poem, it’s not brilliant but it was the first thing I’ve had an urge to write poetically in a long time and strangelt enough, it happened while I was on the train.  

Leave a comment