The Constellations of Tomorrow.

We like to dream of the impossible,

Search for the wilderness that we know exists,

Find our deepest regrets buried at the bottom,

And bury them in a grave of life at its best.

I see the future written in the stars,

In the constellations of tomorrow,

That remain for a lifetime,

Unchanged,

Even though,

They are a million light years away,

Changing before our eyes,

Even though we can’t yet see,

The future that it brings.

I look for tomorrow,

In a pool of water,

In the middle of a forest,

I’ve never been before,

Like a princess,

Waiting for a prince,

Making a wish,

For something better

Than what I have.

But there’s something beautiful,

In the present day,

And present life,

Moving forward and looking ahead,

Exchanging promises and vows,

And gifts for the future.

I see the past set in stone,

And ponder on the darkness in my heart.

It sets like mud,

Sludge, thick and inescapable.

It clings to me,

Hauntingly,

A reminder of what I have done,

And lost.

But the constellations in the sky,

Of Orion,

Of the Pot,

Of the Southern Cross.

They burn brightly,

Shining hotly,

In the midnight white darkness,

Giving us a light,

Accompanying the moon,

And all her glory,

I see my future,

Maybe not brightly,

But the hope is there,

In the Constellations of Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

