Quote #182

From William Shakespeare (Twelfth Night)…

William Shakespeare

“Be not afraid of greatness.

Some are born great, some achieve greatness,

and others have greatness thrust upon them.” 

[ N. B ]  One of my favourite Shakespeare quotes.  One I fell in love with more after I saw the She’s The Man adaptation of Twelfth Night (I think it’s really good for a modern audience, or maybe I just love how it mixes some of my favourite things together–Soccer, girl dressing as a guy to prove something, etc).  I was going to put a clip here from youtube of the scene where Channing Tatum’s character, Duke, reciting the above lines, but I can’t find a decent clip (well I have one below anyway, because hey, that’s one of my favourite scenes in the whole movie).  So I have a marvel one instead!

I, for one, am definitely not born great, but hopefully, I’ll be able to achieve it.  And I hope all of you out there, also can achieve the greatness you strive for.  Because I believe, we are all great, and shouldn’t be afraid of it.

Leave a Reply

