The Ultimate Book Tag

SO.  Lately I’ve had an influx of postgrad academic work, and while it’s probably the usual amount you’d expect at the beginning of one’s PhD, it’s still so very overwhelming!  And yet, all I want to do right now, is spend a little while procrastinating.  Procrastination via blogging, and because I’ve been somewhat dying to do a book tag lately, I figured I’d go out and find one to do!  And apparently this book tag was everywhere back in April  this year (where the heck was I?  How could I miss out on doing it?) so now I’m going to do it — yehehe I knew late I’m doing this, but who cares, it’s a book tag!

Questions:


1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

It varies.  I don’t vomit or anything, but I get severely queasy and have a major headache if I sit in a car for too long.  Sometimes even when it’s a short car ride.  Sometimes if I have a full stomach, I don’t feel sick at all.  But sometimes I do.  That’s in general.  READING is a whole other matter.  Sometimes reading actually stops me from feeling sick because it’s completely distracting me from the movement of the car and the outside.  But other times, I can’t even focus on the page.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Jim Butcher.  There’s no one who can replace his style of writing, all that wit and humour and complex plot twists, it’s simply amazing.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter!  Always!  And if I have to give three points, well:

  1. Awesome
  2. Awesome
  3. Awesome

I think that answers it, don’t you?

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?
No I don’t, unless you want to call my handbag, stuffed to the brim my book bag?  It might as well be since really….I can’t ever leave the house without at least one book on me!  Other than the book, I usually have my laptop, usual handbag accessories, water, earphones, boring stuff…

5. Do you smell your books?

YES.  Well new books definitely.  Old books, well depends where they’re from.  But definitely, what kind of book nerd would I be if I didn’t smell my new books?

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

How about both?  A book without little illustrations is fine, I mean that’s normal.  A book with little illustrations though gives the reader something to look at and engage in the story even more!  (it’s even more lovely when the story itself is a little bit boring, and the illustrations are the only things worth looking forward to.)

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? (I.e Realising the writing in Twilight isn’t really that good at all)

*facepalm*  truly, other than Twilight, I can’t think of any other book.  And while admittedly, I did quite enjoy Twilight when I read it–a guilty pleasure to love something so straightforwardly written, and mostly aimed at fulfilling a whole bunch of impossible fantasies–I didn’t love it.  The instalove, I hated it.  But yes, compared to other books which I love a lot, Twilight falls into this category.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

I think a book fell on my head once, and that’s how I became friends with this girl in my primary school.

Oh wait, never mind, I think that was a lunchbox that fell on my head!

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

I think it’s a Beatrix Potter Book with only 50 pages or something (I’d have to double check later, but it’s hardcover, green, and really tiny!  I also think, if memory serves me right, it’s Peter Rabbit).

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix!  Nothing beats that and it’s massive. 

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

Yeessssss I do.  Been writing and reading for years.  And well *looks distantly forward into a hopefully near future* I hope I become an author one day!

12. When did you get into reading?

Seriously, you’re asking me this question?!  If I could remember, I would tell you.  But unfortunately, my memory extends so far, and the best I can say is that in my twenty-two years, I definitely was reading from the moment I could properly read from the front cover of a book to the back cover without throwing the book down,  frustrated by not being able to decipher unknown words without help. Of course, I, like all children, began with picture books.  I remember that much–but still!  A book is a book!
13. What is your favorite classic book?

My favourite classic?  When it comes to classics, I won’t lie, the density of the books give me headaches.  However, I still read them for my own enjoyment (well they do take longer than usual books but still!) But there are some books that I do actually love and read them because I was genuinely interested in the story (well almost), and they are (asides from the expected Pride and Prejudice!!!) : Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (I lovvvveeeeee this book), Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen (Gave it a try and loveddddd it), House of Mirth by Edith Warton, I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith, and Little Women by Louisa May Alcott.

RebeccaNorthanger Abbey

The House of MirthI Capture the Castle

Little Women (Little Women, #1)

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

Art was actually my best subject, then Linguistics, then English (Lit).  Though on the whole, I did well in all those subjects with only a few points separating one subject from another.  Though admittedly, art (photography) was my absolute best subject (a surprise even to me!)
15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

I would use it to layer the back half of my bookshelf, along with all the other books I don’t like yet I own, and then line all my favourite books on top it.  A very useful book even if I didn’t like it lol.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Harry Potter is difficult.  I can’t really think of a book similar to it.  Sure there are plenty of books set in schools and based around magic.  But like that?  WELL I guess something similar, tv show wise, and also a show I loved as a kid (watched it around the same time when Harry Potter was coming out), is the Worst Witch.   I never got round to reading the books!  (But I think they’re aimed at Children.)

AS for books like Hunger Games.  Structurally, world-like, Divergent or the Selection series would be similar.  Lesser known books, probably:

Girl in the Arena by Lisa Haines

Girl in the Arena

I did and didn’t like the above book.  Still it’s got that reality-tv-reluctant-and-rebellious-teen at the centre of the story.  It lacks the strong themes of Hunger Games though lol, and in comparison, doesn’t match up at all.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I was going to say rambling……..

But okay.  Messages from me after or around midnight, when I’m incredibly tired, never make any sense!  Okay well, maybe they make some sense, but I write too much, and end up rambling about stupid things.  Then again, I never know my limits…..I wonder what my texts would be like if I was completely and  utterly drunk!

18. What is your favorite word?

“Oxymoron”.  But I think it’s one of my favourite words because of what it is rather than the actual word itself.  Truthfully, I love all words.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Nerd.  Dork.  More nerd than dork.  But definitely nerdy, I love my books too much.  If I could eat my books I would.  Since I already breath them, feel them, listen to them, see them.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Fairies.  I never liked vampires.  Plus fairies are pretty to look at.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

If I had to really pick, I would pick angel, because hey, I like to know who I’m talking to–I don’t like being tricked (sometimes I talk too much lol) and Angels are just naturally more truthful.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Maybe a spirit?  Depending on what kind of spirit we’re talking about here.  If it’s the asian kind, I’d love one of the good ones.

23. Zombies or Vampires?

How about neither?  I like things alive!  (But then again, if I was reading about something either I would prefer zombies! )

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Actually, either is fine in a book. AS LONG AS THEY’RE DONE WELL.  But still, I prefer forbidden love over a love triangle since love triangles are so overdone and annoying in a  lot of YA fiction.

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Depends on my mood!  I don’t mind full on romance books every once in a while!  But on the whole, I do love action a lot more than romance.


Guys are you bored/procrastinating/wanting to do something?  I TAG you to do this tag.  Even more so if you’re a lover of books and by some chance HAVE NOT done this tag yet.

Whoo and I am done!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

