Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Ransom Riggs.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1)


Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
by Ransom Riggs

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

My face —> -_________________________-

In truth, I’m not sure what I was expecting when I picked up this novel for the Quarterly Book Club’s 3rd Quarter Read. All I knew was that this book has a tonne of reviews, supporters, lovers, and is currently on sale on Book Depository (love that site!) Other than that, I knew nothing. And thus had no expectations when I started reading it. I got through 85 pages relatively engaged, but not dying to continue reading it, and then I put it down for two weeks, and sought out something else to read.

-______________________________-

Nothing blew my mind away. And with two days before Miss Peregrine’s is due at the library, I came back. I came back and finished it today, while I was procrastinating. I didn’t finish it quickly because it was the most mind blowing book I’d ever read. I finished it because I had to finish it. If I owned it, I’d probably leave it for a long time. Since really, I wasn’t overly ecstatic.

Why?

Here is why:

[1] Jacob starts as a semi-strong character. I did love him in the beginning, I did love the way he talked about his grandpa. That was my favourite part of the whole book. But then, my interest in him as a character waned. When he meets all the other peculiar children, it dips completely. If I knew exactly why I lost interest in him, this would be so much easier to explain. But it could have been a number of things. The fact that he ends up kissing the same girl his grandpa liked. The fact that I no longer felt like I was getting to know what kind of person Jacob was. The fact that of all things, Jacob’s father doesn’t really seem to care about him! That he kind of gives up, and while yeah there were so many scenes in the book highlighting how much Jacob’s father cared about him, I just didn’t feel it. Each scene felt like they’d been thrown in casually and not really useful. So by the end, I felt Jacob lacked depth.

[2] The story on the whole is nothing overly special, the plot is pretty generic, however I have no gripes about it. I never was one to really care whether there’s some fascinating plot or not. It’s the emotions that get me in books (emotions that the second half of this book really lacked). I do like that while Jacob is special, he isn’t overly special, because you see it from the beginning where his peculiarity comes from. And as for the climax, it was both unpredictable and predictable. Maybe I’m in one of those moods, and things just hit me quicker or something, because I saw the twist coming, felt the foreshadowing long before it came. So when it hit, it was only a mild surprise, but not really overly surprising.

[3] This book suffers from too much sea. It coasts. Coasts a lot. There are action scenes, and intense moments of mystery, but I never really felt the spark. For this, I feel it’s the fault in the writing. Again, it might just be because I felt that the writing was too simplistic, hence why I didn’t jump when certain things happened, or when the action kicked in. In many ways, I think I would have loved this a lot if I was younger. It just didn’t have the same excitement I’m used to feeling with a really good book.

But then again, it might just be me, ya know? One of those moods where I don’t want to appreciate something that is loved by a lot of people. Or maybe I’m just coming along with an unpopular opinion.

[4] -_____________________________- This book has been misleadingly been advertised as a horror book on Book Depository. IT IS ANYTHING BUT HORROR. Supernatural, yes. Paranormal, yes. Thriller? For like a ten year old, yes! But for me, who has seen her fair share of horror movies, I do not think it’s scary at all. Anything but. Again, I blame the writing here. It’s too simplistic. It feels like it’s constantly holding back on really bringing out the utmost potential this book has. And yet….at the same time, in my indecisive mood, this book has reached its utmost potential.

[5] Other characters. Emma was pretty kickass, but like with any book written from a male perspective, sometimes I really hate female representations. Sure, Emma was not as bad as a few others, and she was actually pretty cool, but seriously. I CAN’T TELL HOW OLD SHE’S SUPPOSED TO BE. Seriously, is she like ten? And even if she’s fifteen like Jacob, then she’s got a very sharp personality, which makes her both kickass and annoying, depending on my mood, she can be both lol.

[6] The world/mythology/fantasy. It was interesting. I liked the development, and I liked where it went with the whole ‘peculiars’ and ‘hollows’. I wouldn’t say it’s original, but I will say it was a pretty original way of executing a familiar kind of parallel of good and evil. I think I liked it more for the story that came with how hollows came about. It’s not just an ”evil’ version of peculiars. Hollows came from somewhere, and how they came to be, was something I was really grateful to see in the story. I think I liked the execution of the story as well.

Overall it was still an interesting read. I wouldn’t call it YA, or Horror, but as a teen book, aimed at a younger audience, it’s definitely a Suggestive Read. Since others might like this more than I did.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

