Doctor Mars. T.A. Uner.

23461777


Doctor Mars
by T.A. Uner

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Many thanks to the Author for providing a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

First off, this is 3.89 stars. It loses stars for being too short! I knew this was short to begin with, and knew that it was perfect for a train ride. However in the end, I didn’t get around to reading this until well, now. And even then it wasn’t while I was on the train either. I was just bored, and wanted something different regardless of the fact that I actually have a small stack of library books to still finish up.

Secondly, I had very little expectation of Doctor Mars when I started it. I read the premise and thought it was interesting. I’m always game for a mystery story on Mars. Who isn’t? It’s been a while since I read an actual sci-fi novel that isn’t classed as a dystopian or post apocalyptic. Rather just a simple story set o another planet or something. The last time I read something this sci-fi was probably Garth Nix’s A Confusion of Princes which was a while back. Well that’s the last one that I can remember right this moment. But well, these days, I can’t really find anything that catches my fancy in sci-fi, not like how Phillip K Dick works his masterpieces into a thrilling futuristic tale.

T. A. Uner comes very close to that perfect sci-fi imagery I have in my head thanks to Philip K Dick. He’s my ultimate Sci-fi genius, and since I rarely dwell in full on sci-fi stories, yep, he’s definitely my all time favourite. SO when I saw T. A. Uner comes very close, I mean, the beginning of his novella has that same mysterious feel as Minority Report. You’re thrown into this world of the Mindcop Dossiers, and it works. I didn’t feel one bit confused. The language is simple and straight forward and there’s a goal to be followed, a directive given to the reader that there is a purpose for this novella. The purpose: to solve the murder.

Simple. Straightforward. Our MC is an officer with the Mindcop Division. Liberty Rise is mutant with a power that enables her read people. It’s not mindreading, but via touch, she can read little bits of history, whatever comes from who she touches. This ability allows her to unravel the case of Doctor Mars.


Pros:

~ Simple.

~ Straightforward.

~ Mystery.

~ Action packed–there’s never a moment in which you feel like you’re lacking in action. For a 48page novella, Uner does well in packing in a punch.

~ Liberty. I like her so far. Don’t have any issues with her yet, but because the story was so short, and with the focus on the mystery, there is so much more I want to know about her!


Cons:
Yes, all books have them.
~ It’s only a novella, but totally deserves to be longer!

~ Because it was so action packed, you lack the in depth development of the characters. Which is a shame, because I would have definitely have liked to see more of each character.

~ World building. Even though it was very easy to slip into this story, this was mainly because we had a mystery to unravel. If the mystery wasn’t so prevalent, then the world building wouldn’t have been strong enough. I would definitely love to see more of this world. I think it was clever how the places were named.


Overall:

A must read Suggestive Read! A short and quick sci-fi story definitely worth reading!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

