The Things in My Heart

I have a thousand things I want to ask

Whenever I look at you,

Whenever we talk,

Whenever I feel like I can relax

With you.

I want to ask,

What are we?

I want to ask,

Did you do this with your ex?

I want to ask,

Do I bore you?

I want to ask,

If I’m imagining this all?

I have a thousand things I want to ask,

Whenever you pay for my food,

Whenever you take me out,

Whenever you drive me home,

And I hold back,

Not sure what to do,

Not sure if I’m reading it right,

Not sure.

I am afraid,

That this is just what friends do

These days.

I am afraid,

That this is just what is considered normal

These days.

I am afraid,

That I might just be using you.

Am I wrong?

I have a thousand things I want to ask,

Whenever we talk,

Whenever I get your message,

Whenever I feel insecure.

I can’t help it,

This feeling in me,

That isn’t anything much at all,

And yet can’t be considered nothing

To take note of on the whole.

I have a thousand things I want to ask,

That shouldn’t be so hard to ask,

If I just open my mouth,

And ask.

But I am afraid of making that mistake,

So perhaps I shouldn’t ask,

The thousand things that sit in my heart.

One thought on “The Things in My Heart

Leave a Reply

