Redecorating!

It seems like a week for redecorating, changing things around and trying something new.  It has also been a very odd week for me too.  Earlier this week for example, I was having lunch with a friend, and silly me, I’m not sure how it happened, but I almost walked out without paying!  Thankfully my friend (most gorgeous and adorable best friend of mine!) was there to pull me in the right direction, that is: the cashiers.  The desk where I hastily pulled out my share of lunch and laughed off my dd spate of forgetfulness.

As for redecorating.  I’ve been in a mood to redesign my Words That Flow Like Water Logo.  And not just that, I made it my business to also make time to make a new header!  In the beginning, when I first started this blog, I was admittedly quite shy about putting my own works up.  I didn’t really want to put my own sketches where it seemed like I was boasting, and being overly proud of artwork which while not brilliant, are things I just so happen to like sketching.  So I kept it pretty minimal.  But lately, over the last year or so, I’ve been feeling a little bit more confident.  I just love how you can see the personal development in skill whenever I look through my old sketches or read over old work–it’s a wonderful feeling to feel like I’ve accomplished something!

For example, my original Blog logo:

I remember drawing that in 2011, as I was attempting to hone my skills.  I was getting there slowly with different body positions and things I hadn’t really explored previously.  Now, the new and improved drawing, updated as a my Blog’s logo:

Avatar copy 2

Creative tools: – hand sketch and ink – Photoshop – Starwalt Brushes from DeviantARTRedheadstock rose brushes from DeviantART

I was surprised at how much my sketch style changed when I sketched out the new logo.  Not only that, I was pleased to find how much easier it was to draw such a body position for my main figure!  Not only that, I’ve clearly become much more skilled at drawing hands–this was one of my worst skills before, one I didn’t think I’d ever improve on.

Guess it goes to show how much one can achieve given time and hard work honing existing skills!  I always believe in bettering oneself, and that there is always room for improvement.  This goes for writing as much as it does for art.  Same with attitudes to life :).  If it’s looking down, then surely, it’ll look up at one stage!

Lastly, as for redecorating, I finally got round to making a Header for WTFLW.  I didn’t know how it would look, and I always wanted to stay away from using brushes from DeviantART, thus the result is quite different to my logo.  I’m not sure if I’m too happy with it, but I like for now.

What do you think?

Undoubtedly it has a similar feel to the masthead I made for The Quarterly Book Club but this is primarily because WTFLW is mainly water and blue orientated.  The writing (written in my own hand!) in the background are actually taken from here: The Dream Weaver in which I used Edgar Allen Poe’s poem Dreams as part of the background (not brilliantly thought out, but that’s where the writing comes from!)  I shall perhaps redo the banner, make it simpler or perhaps even scrap it and start again because of course! although I like it, my need to make it perfect has struck!

My dear followers, fellow bloggers, friends and random visitors!  I hope you are all well, and that life is going well for you.  If not, I hope it gets better, just like I hope mine is going where I want it to :).

I will be posting a poem next!  (Well I hope.  I’ve been getting bursts of inspiration, but nothing has been fully formed yet!

2 thoughts on “Redecorating!

  1. I’m gonna leave a quick comment because it’s 2am here and I’m loopy, but it’s all BEAUTIFUL!!! I love it! I’ll send you gushing compliments tomorrow 🙂

    • Lol! Aww thank you!!! 🙂 I’ve been staring at the banner all day…haha…trying to decide if it’s good or not or if I have to redo it!

Leave a Reply

