Music Moment: Australia in Eurovision: Eurovision Semi Final 2!

Songs 1 to 5:

For the second Semi Final of the Eurovision Song Contest, I felt it began rocky, with acts that weren’t over all too strong.  But from Montenegro onwards, they were totally taking over the stage!  Yes, the earlier ones were different, and Montenegro was a ballad, but I disliked the kissing in Lithuania (felt too forced and the duet sounded off to my ears), Ireland, I liked her but I felt like something was off there too, and San Marino….maybe they were just too young, because for most of the song I wanted it to get to the point!  But Montenegro really picked it up, and I gotta say, I liked their performance, in their local language ( that makes three including those from Semi Final 1 so far since I’m writing this up as the Semi is showing ).  Malta was a power ballad like Georgia yesterday,  and is also called ‘Warrior’, I liked it, but well hit me!  I want to see what else is on tonight!

Songs 6 to 8

Norway, wow.  Look at that girl’s hair! And the jewel hair ornament. The duet here is much darker and stronger than San Marino!   A song called ‘A monster like me’ that was surrounded with a rather dark yet fiery background. It was darkly powerful and intense at the same time.  Portugal, yay, good for them, also singing in a language other than English.  Strong too! I like her look!  But apparently not as well loved as Norway by Australians!  The Czech Republic was next, haven’t seen them for around six years.  So it’s been a while.  Another duet, man and woman, of course, singing about hop never dying. The vocals were very strong, and there was even a shoe throwing moment!   But with so many duets tonight and my head still stuck with Estonia’s performance last night, I guess I didn’t love this song a lot!

Songs 9 to 10

Israel has been a favourite apparently, so I look forward to their performance.  Sorry guys if my tenses are all over the place!  I’m trying to write as this happens, and yet at the same time by the time it’s posted, this post will be post-Eurovision, so deal with me for a bit here!  Omg I like Israel so far!  So active!! OMG I WANT THEM TO WIN.  There’s that tone to the music (or is it melody?), anyway technical terms aside, there’s a sense of mediterraneaness in the music which I love.  I liked the active dancing too.  And it was active, fun, and different to all the ballads I’ve been hearing tonight.  Next is Latvia!  Reminds me of Margaret Berger in 2013 for Norway.  But more….explosive!  Her voice is delicately strong in that similar sense.  Next is Azerbaijan–with a performer from a few years back.  He’s killing it again, but then again, another ballad!  Two dancers accompany Elnur (scuse me if that’s wrong!) on the stage, and they’re a little distracting, but they’re not bad.

Songs 11 to 15

Iceland is coming up next, she reminds me of Emmelie de Forest!  For  visual moment there, even though are nothing alike!  She’s cute though, and her voice isn’t bad.  I like her song, but not as much as some others.  I like the chorus part of her song though :). Sweden–now they are one of the most hyped up contestants I’ve seen in a while!  Oh…he’s cute.  I love how he looks.  Now…is he worth the hype? Okay so he can sing, but I swear most of the hype is from the hotness on the stage (lol).  But then again, the song is pretty good, lyric-wise.  Next is Switzerland.  Yay! I kept seeing some of the singers for Switzerland in the SBS backstage parts.  I liked what I was hearing so I can’t wait for this!  Pretty dress for the main performer–gem/crystal bodice with flowy, good for the wind machine skirts, and four back up singers in the back performing with drums (little see through drums)–I love that effect visually.  I smell potential winner with them!  Their performance is so *star eyes* explosive!  Cyprus! So soft and gentle.  Since Turkey isn’t in it this year again (my disappointment is never ending about that), I am half rooting for Cyrus!  And wow, it’s a very difference song to the explosive ballads I’ve been hearing so far!  Then again, considering an explosive ballad won last year, it was no surprise that there would be so many this year!

Songs 16 to 17

Slovenia is/was the second last song of the night.  Interesting vocals for the female performer.  There’s also a guy on the piano with pretty interesting hair.   And the back up dancers are playing imaginary violins as well!  I think the guy playing the piano is playing the piano though lol.  The last song of the night has the prettiest stage visual.  The back screen is displaying drapes fluttering in the breeze and branches of blossoms.  Again, like the previous performance, there is a piano in the background.  But the focus is definitely predominantly on the performer.

Top Four Favourites of Semi Final 2!

1: Israel

2: Latvia

3: Switzerland

4: Slovenia (For the imaginary instruments!)

Posting this before the actual results of the Australian broadcast of the Eurovision Song Contest Semi Final 2 are being shown!

Leave a Reply

