A Thousand Things to Say #1

I’m thinking of starting a new thing on my blog.  I’ve got quotes from other people–famous, writers, personalities, book characters–but I think it’s time I share a bit of my own wisdom.  I’m not sure how this will go, or what I will say in these parts, but I think it’ll be a nice change.  I’ve needed a bit more change on my blog–that and time.   This will be a temporary segment though, lasting only 1000 pieces of wisdom.

A Thousand Things To Say #1 —-  Don’t hate what you love.  If you like it, you like it. There’s nothing to be ashamed of.

It’s a cliched piece of wisdom, but it’s wisdom none the less, and I definitely believe in remembering it whenever I face a situation where it’s evident I’m not sharing the majority opinion.  In incidences like these, I have been known for declaring my opinion just a little too loudly, and usually after saying what I really think out loud, I some times feel that widening circle of wariness around me.  Yet, it can’t be helped, I just don’t agree, and remembering that it’s okay to say that I like something has pushed me through.   I won’t lie, I’m sometimes not the strongest person in the world and seeing that I’m different has sometimes shakes my nerves.  After all as a kid, I had to deal with being the only Asian girl in my year–despite the multicultralism of my city, it was still pretty uniform.  And while I appreciated my ethnicity, I didn’t really learn how to appreciate it until later on–and this meant rejecting traditional foods of my ethnicity, and foods that other people weren’t eating.  I didn’t like being short (I’m petite btw and I have a complex about my height, though I don’t try to think about it much, and I would wear heels, but oh boy, you’ll never guess…finding heels for my feet…..is worse than looking for a needle in a haystack to use a common idiom).  I didn’t like looking different.  I wanted to be taller (don’t we all want to be taller? And if we’re not short, then, don’t we all want to be a little shorter?  Just a little different because we think it might make us feel a little bit better?)  It was later on, in highschool, after feeling like a coward for letting myself be bullied–it was partially my fault (no matter how much one says it’s not your fault, you sat idly by…), even if I definitely blamed the bully who bullied me–and not make a stand (too quiet for my own good, henceforth the point where I decided I wanted to speak up, even if a little bit) that I learnt this piece of wisdom.  I was never suicidal, I like to think despite being weak sometimes, I could learn to be strong, and where better to start with appreciating my difference?  It was me who was maing a big deal about things, and hence emphasised how I saw others looking at me.  Truthfully, I like how I look.  I like eating what I like.  I like that I can be cute and small even if sometimes it sucks ( like if I happen to want to sit behind the driver’s seat, I need a cushion so it doesn’t look like Aunt Petunia craning her neck to see what the neighbours are doing).  But then, there are heels for that! (But only when they fit, and I have come into a bit of luck about that over the last few years and still have a functioning wallet.)  From there, it was only a matter taking it step by step to be unafraid of saying ‘I like this’.  Of course when it comes to guys, there is still that ever present fear–but hey, that’s another story.

2 thoughts on “A Thousand Things to Say #1

    • 🙂 Thank you, and definitely. It’s one of the hardest things to do, but when you find it, life becomes both a bit harder (sticking to your values) but also easier (no need to pretend as much any more).

Leave a Reply

