Quicksilver. R.J.Anderson.


13149420Quicksilver
by R.J. Anderson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was freaking unbelievable. Even more amazing than the first. And omg! Review to come!

Firstly, R.J.Anderson should be named, “R.J. Awesome”. Because really, she does an amazing job creating her characters and her world.

The Plot
Back in her hometown, Tori Beaugrand had everything a teenaged girl could want—popularity, money, beauty. But she also had a secret. A secret that could change her life in an instant, or destroy it.

Now she’s left everything from her old life behind, including her real name and Alison, the one friend who truly understood her. She can’t escape who and what she is. But if she wants to have anything like a normal life, she has to blend in and hide her unusual… talents.

Plans change when the enigmatic Sebastian Faraday reappears and gives Tori some bad news: she hasn’t escaped her past. In fact, she’s attracted new interest in the form of an obsessed ex-cop turned investigator for a genetics lab.

She has one last shot at getting her enemies off her trail and winning the security and independence she’s always longed for. But saving herself will take every ounce of Tori’s incredible electronics and engineering skills—and even then, she may need to sacrifice more than she could possibly imagine if she wants to be free.

There are no plot holes. If there were, then I was too engaged with the story to see them.

As for the plot,well, it’s a continuation and conclusion of Ultravioletand all those unanswered questions from Ultraviolet, definitely got answered in this. Especialllllyyy the dilemma between Alison and Faraday.

I love that we get to see and hear from old favourites from Ultraviolet and I love that we find out what happens to Faraday and Alison, who, we know, left us wanting them to just get together finally. In this,while it wasn’t a clear cut happy ending, I feel Faraday and Alison had a wonderful reunion. A little cheesy and dramatic, but electric as always.

The Characters
You know, Tori Beaugrand could have been a very annoying character. But there was sympathy in her voice as well as a guarded determination. Being on the run and under an assumed name will take it’s toll on her. She’s harsh on Milo even though he’s been nothing but perfectly nice to her, and a total bitch to Faraday. But when she thinks everything through properly near the end, she wins so much bonus points from me. And well,I like her a whole lot more!

Milo Hwang. Oh man, so I’m always for a good Asian male as the love interest in American novels, being Asian myself, I have a complex about male love interests.I mean I’m always for Asian main female protags, but Asian love interests? They usually turn out cheesy or something…Like I didn’t like it in North of Beautiful. I don’t know, I guess there’s always something a bit off. But Milo, Milo is like a great example of a realistic Asian male love interest. I feel like he was totally hot in this novel and I did drool for him. Because Anderson created his character just that well!

But, he’s too nice :P.

Faraday and Alison. Oh Alison and Faraday,I’m so glad you guys got a bit of page time. But the amount of pages that they were on together at the same time, well, that was pretty minimal. But for those minimal few pages, that old chemistry between them sparks wildly, and it’s great. While the way that it ended between them in Quicksilver is not the most ideal in terms of happy romance novels, it’s a pretty great one. And I liked it.

Writing
Good, great, personality-filled, well written.

Overall
I seriously drooled when this was over. There were so many up moments and down moments. There was Tori being Tori, not giving a damn about others and only worrying about herself. Okay so I make her sound more selfish than she really is, it’s just that she’s spent so much time trying hard to make others like her and friend her, that she’s used to manipulating them so that she doesn’t feel “alien“. But then the action kicks in with a combination of Faraday’s return and Milo’s accidental discovery of half of Tori’s secret. And well, from there, you know that stone that’s started rolling down the hill? Yeah, it’s rolling, and it’s rolling fast. I can guarantee, if you loved Ultraviolet, then you sure as hell will love Quicksilver! Because there’s no way one can’t get sucked in. It’s just unbelievable. Loved this way too much! I was so happy when I read this, it had exceeded my expectations!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

