The Elite. Kiera Cass.


16248068The Elite
by Kiera Cass

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

First off this is a future that’s not really believable, it’s even partly laughable, yet it’s a fantasy that can be believed. Second, I wasn’t really excited by the first book (except for the cover, loved that cover!), nor did I hate it very much. Mainly I guess because it was a less catastrophic and dire novel compared to other novels that feature a reality tv show i.e. The Hunger Games. This series is definitely moreabout the romance and I’d almost say it’s lighter and fluffier. But while The Selection was nothing too special, The Elite ramps up the romance between Maxon and America. Even poor Aspen (though not so poor after what he did at the beginning of the The Selection to America) is thrown into the plot much more often and actually has a roke in being a rival. Though really, as I’ve mentioned in my status updates, I reckon the final coupling will be Maxon and America.

Aspen is like that mannish kind of guy – that’s the feeling I got when I read about him in the first book and this one, and I figured that he had a chance with America, and I didn’t really like Maxon much in The Selection because he seemed a little whimpy and whatnot. But in this book, Maxon looks as though he’s grown some balls (scuse my language), in the sense that he feels much more manlier in this book, and feels more personable, and even though I roll my eyes at the whole Bachelor tv show thing, I can’t help but cheer him on a little when he leaves America alone for a while. I know she needs time to figure it out, but she was so undecisive that of course Maxon would lose his patience eventually. And then there’s the whole “I can’t be a princess” thing where she messes up a lot of things on the show because she has no confidence. I like that I got to see her develop as a character, but I hated her whining and reluctance. But then without it, it wouldn’t be good character development lol!

Lastly, the plot about the rebels…I’m still not entirely sure what’s going on with that, but I guess I’m looking forward to the entire story wound up in The One. I think that’ll be very intersting! Plus, out of all the covers, The Selection and The One’s covers are my favourites!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “The Elite. Kiera Cass.

    • Omg! I totally know what you mean, it’s driving me up the wall! It’s such a rarity these days to find a YA fantasy where the focus is on the story rather than the heroine’s worries over which man to choose.

Leave a Reply

