My Unfair Godmother. Janette Rallison


8364977My Unfair Godmother
by Janette Rallison

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

You know, I loved My Fair Godmother, Janette Rallison’s first book in the My Fair Godmother series. I started with a very sceptical perspective thinking, wasn’t this about the godmother? And then, when I finished it, I realised I went through a whole lot of everything from magic to misadventure in medieval times, to punked up fairy godmothers to smexy heroes. Yep, I certainly had a lot to think about.

This instalment though, totally upped the score on it’s predecessor. Half the time I couldn’t help but think, Robin Hood AND Rumplestiltskin? No way! Rallison totally knows how to mess with my mojo. In fact, it was probably the first time I’ve read a book without fears that it wouldn’t make the expectations I had from the first book. Granted I can’t remember when I read the first one except that it’s been a while, probably something from six months to a year ago. BUT. I do remember thinking that it was possibly one of the best funny plays on fairytales. So I had no worries that I would be disappointed with My Unfair Godmother. I suppose it was also because in the first place I had no expectations for My Fair Godmother, so there wasn’t much to raise.

NOW. My Unfair Godmother introduces Tansy Miller as the damsel in distress. She’s new to town and her boyfriend Bo get’s her caught by the police after he and his friends took her along to vandalise public property. And then she’s tricked by the Chief of Police’s son into ratting her boyfriend out.

Curtains open, and Chrysanthemum “Chrissy” Everstar once again enters the stage. According to Chrissy, Tansy’s life is pretty pathetic, she even had a pathetic pie charge of Tansy’s life. She offers Tansy three wishes to make her happy. And Tansy wishes for Robin Hood. However, what she wishes for comes back to her in a different form. Rather than someone like Robin Hood, Chrissy wished Robin Hood from the Middle Ages. And then there’s havoc and Tansy’s labelled by the very same Police Chief’s son who’d tricked her in the first place as someone who couldn’t help but be attracted to bad boys, including Robin Hood who is not so good and selfless as all the stories say. By the time Tansy solves the Robin Hood problem, she makes her third wish and that’s when she’s wished not just into the Middle Ages, but into the Rumplestiltskin fairy tale to gain the ability to make gold whenever she wanted.

I’M SURPRISED. I can’t believe, honestly, how well Rallison combines both the Robin Hood story and Rumplestiltskin story to make this awesome instalment. So many times while I was reading this, I couldn’t help but think, these two don’t go together, and yet, they totally fit. Omg this is totally crazy. It was ingenious. I even had to wonder how Rallison thought it! Rallison writes and plots it so well, I can hardly find any flaws. While yeah half the time I felt it was unbelievable, because well, Tansy felt it was unbelievable, so if I was feeling that it was unbelievable, and Rallison wanted me think it was unbelievable, which leaves me hanging and as Kyouko from Skip Beat!, Vol. 01 would think, I can’t be drawn into their acting! Though, in this case, writing. Rallison writes her characters well. There’s so much personality and character that you really get drawn into their stories. You feel sorry for Tansy and you also feel happy for her. It was great! I absolutely love stories that draw me in.

NO WAY. I can’t believe the love interest was called “Hudson Gardner”. I don’t know if this is a normal name in the US. Even if it is, I find separately there’s nothing wrong with the same “Hudson” or with the last name “Gardner” but when it’s put together I get this feeling of ridiculousness or over cheesiness that makes the combination sound almost terrible. Reminds me of the name of the protagonist in The Selection who was called “America Singer”. It’s not a bad name, but I don’t know, I just didn’t really like that he was called “Hudson Gardner”. And the baby! -Read the novel to totally understand the significance of the baby! – I can’t believe Stetson was in the running for the name choice. BUT. I will say because he had such a small role, I didn’t get the chance to like him with the name “Stetson”. Hudson, on the other hand, grew on me as the name of the love interest. I guess it fit his personality…eventually!

HELL YES. Look, this is fun-stuffed book of highschool romance, highschool girl issues, fairy tale mayhem, and headstrong whacky fairy godmothers. If you’re into fairy tale retellings, totally give this a try! It’s a little different to some, but it’s definitely funny. If you’re into highschool love stories, then this is also one of those! If you love good dialog, full of wit, then this has it (though there are so many, and nearly in all instances, I can’t help but wonder, for once, was it a bit too much? And yet, they were all funny, so Rallison, you’re totally forgiven)and if youwant good vs evil action, then this has it too. This has so much, I can’t believed it’s packed into a 350-something paged book!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

