Bitterblue. Kristin Cashore. A Suggestive Read.

The Excitement.

I cannot wait to read this! While Fire was both on my hate list and love list, I really liked Graceling! So I cannot wait for Bitterblue.

The Status Updates.

05/25/2012       “I actually can’t believe I finally have my hands on this. Omg, can’t wait! it’ll be absolutely amazing or absolutely disappointing…”
05/26/2012     50.0% “I loved how this began! I really like the way Cashore depicted this confused little queen…I wonder how it will end? why do I get the sense that Bitterblue is not going to end with Saf? Asides from the obvious fact that they’re on different levels of society?”
05/26/2012     51.0% “Omg lol, just hit the part where Saf and Bitterblue just…oh god, I really feel for Bitterblue. It’s really not her fault for who she is and I think Saf is being an ass about it, which I also think is really well written!”
05/27/2012     68.0% “The only thing that annoys me about Bitterblue is her constant questioning, otherwise, I really like her voice. I like that she tries to care. Cashore’s writing makes her seem slightly naive, but I think it suits Bitterblue’s character. I mean I didn’t like Fire much, but I’m thinking I like Bitterblue quite a bit, kind of like how much I liked Graceling.”

The Book.

Bitterblue (Graceling Realm, #3)Bitterblue (Graceling Realm, #3)

The long-awaited companion to New York Times bestsellers Gracelingand Fire

Eight years have passed since the young Princess Bitterblue, and her country, were saved from the vicious King Leck. Now Bitterblue is the queen of Monsea, and her land is at peace. 

But the influence of her father, a violent psychopath with mind-altering abilities, lives on. Her advisers, who have run the country on her behalf since Leck’s death, believe in a forward-thinking plan: to pardon all of those who committed terrible acts during Leck’s reign; and to forget every dark event that ever happened. Monsea’s past has become shrouded in mystery, and it’s only when Bitterblue begins sneaking out of her castle – curious, disguised and alone – to walk the streets of her own city, that she begins to realise the truth. Her kingdom has been under the thirty-five-year long spell of a madman, and now their only chance to move forward is to revisit the past. 

Whatever that past holds. 

Two thieves, who have sworn only to steal what has already been stolen, change her life forever. They hold a key to the truth of Leck’s reign. And one of them, who possesses an unidentified Grace, may also hold a key to her heart . . . 

Praise for Kristin Cashore 

‘This is gorgeous storytelling: exciting, stirring, and accessible’ School Journal 

‘A WOW of a book. I HAD to know how it ended’ Tamora Pierce 

‘Fresh, hopeful, tragic and glorious’ Kirkus

The Review (by that I mean something that looks like My Review).

Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I think Graceling and Fire were both pedestals to the creation of this unbelievable book. It’s ridiculous that I didn’t like Fire as much as Graceling, and that I found the love between Katsa and Po, while hot, it seemed too inevitably, too contrived. But Bitterblue and Saf, oh my, I loved them. I sorry to hear how it ended, but I liked that. I really liked this book.

I think what I liked best about this book was Bitterblue’s voice; her story and how she deals with the remains of her father’s kingdom. I loved the way Cashore tied everything together neatly, no plotholes, and the way she focussed on Bitterblue. I really cannot say how well this entire novel is so perfectly perfect. Okay well I might be exaggerating a bit, but in the common thread, yes this is a well plotted, well written, and definitely entertaining read.

The writing, I think, while good, it would be the one aspect of Cashore books I would get annoyed at if I reread this, Fire and Graceling again. I mean it’s good writing, but it makes the characters seem less mature than they are. Except in this, asides from all of Bitterblue’s annoying questions, which in turn I find, well justified, the writing fully brings to light Bitterblue’s character.

Just loved this…stayed up to finish it. Can’t believe this is the last book. Sigh. Thanks Cashore. Can’t say how much I love this novel. I loved it like Graceling, and well Fire, I guess I have to read you again don’t I?

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Bitterblue. Kristin Cashore. A Suggestive Read.

  1. Loved Graceling and Fire but didn’t enjoy Bitterblue at all. Felt like such an anti-climax after the two previous books. I kept waiting for it to get going but it never really did… sighs…..!!!

    • Oohhh we had totally opposite experiences! But I do get what you mean. Bitterblue is twice as big as the other two, and it’s doing a lot of tying up, so it’s a bit tedious especially listening to Bitterblue! But in the end, I guess I liked how it finished and the ‘final’ feeling that it’s like a trilogy ended (only it’s not a trilogy of course!).

Leave a Reply

