Touch of Power. Maria V. Snyder.


10445208Touch of Power
by Maria V. Snyder

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

So I read somewhere in a review that the reader didn’t feel the love between Avry and Kerrick, and sad as it is, I also felt that way. Sure there were sweet and mushy moments, as well as moments that were heavy and tense, but I didn’t quite feel Kerrick’s change.

The Plot
Laying hands upon the injured and dying, Avry of Kazan assumes their wounds and diseases into herself. But rather than being honored for her skills, she is hunted. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague that has decimated the Territories, leaving the survivors in a state of chaos.

Stressed and tired from hiding, Avry is abducted by a band of rogues who, shockingly, value her gift above the golden bounty offered for her capture. Their leader, an enigmatic captor-protector with powers of his own, is unequivocal in his demands: Avry must heal a plague-stricken prince—leader of a campaign against her people. As they traverse the daunting Nine Mountains, beset by mercenaries and magical dangers, Avry must decide who is worth healing and what is worth dying for. Because the price of peace may well be her life….

Plot: full of twists and plots that intrigue. That’s what I love the most about Maria V Snyder’s works.
Magic: Was cool, but like I’ve mentioned before somewhere, it sounds like the same healing system in The Shifter. Then again, it’s also different, because Healers in this series are constantly healing themselves, but in The Shifter, if I’m not wrong, the healers could only heal each other and not themselves.

The Characters
Avry reminded me alot of Yelena from Poison Study, they’re very similar yet they are also quite different. While liked her overall, I didn’t feel like her reason for disliking Prince Ryne was strong enough. I was constantly looking for that reason for her strong hatred, and yet…when the reveal came, I felt hardly a thing. Sure it was a reasonable reason, and I get her pain, but it didn’t seem bad enough for her to really hate him.
Kerrick was a bastard at the start. For a smart guy too, he also fails to perceive one of the many reasons why Avry refused to heal Ryne. Yet, while I did say I didn’t really feel the change between Kerrick and Avry, I didn’t think he was a badly created character, just not the best.
Supporting characters are a bunch of males, fellow soldiers who follow Kerrick and are around to keep an eye on Avry. Belen is Avry’s strongest ally despite being Kerrick’s man. He watches over Avry, advising her whichever he could. Flea reminded me of a little brother-like figure. (view spoiler)

The Setting
The Fifteen Realms.

The Writing
Is exactly like what you see in Poison Study, simple, yet imaginative. There’s no flowery poetry, there’s nothing fancy. The language is straight forward, with a strong, female voice.

Overall
I’m intrigued. I do love the adventure I get when I read Maria V. Snyder‘s works, and I am curious enough to read athe sequels of Touch of Power.

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Touch of Power. Maria V. Snyder.

Leave a Reply

