Keishichou Tokuhanka 007. Eiri Kaji.


11874662警視庁特犯課007 [Keishichou Tokuhanka 007], Volume 1
by Eiri Kaji

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really really really really really like this manga. It’s got a strong romance plot that keeps you wanting more, but also, equally as strong is the mysteries that Fuyuki is helping with!

The Plot
The “Special crime investigation department 007? includes the most capable and extraordinary investigators and Fuyuki, who also becomes one of its members, is very capable, to. And she is paired with Kuze, a cool and very bishonen detective. Their combination proves to be the most dangerous one the police headquarters had ever seen!

The plot is undoubtedly worth reading. It’s like any police investigation manga, and both Fuyuki and Kuze are partners. Throughout the series, they solve a number of crimes, and both Kuze and Fuyuki get to showcase their awesomeness. Intertwined are the stories behind Kuze and Fuyuki, which are revealed bit by bit as they get to know each other better.

The Characters
Fuyuki> I love Fuyuki! She’s a dainty character, yet she’s also incredibly strong. She has special ESP and PK (telekinesis) powers and though she doesn’t have much control over them, throughout the series, she uses them to help solve crimes, and is able to control them to her surprise. What’s more, I like that she is compatible with Kuze (even if she is 9 years younger), she’s a bit bratty, but a lot of the time, she’s very mature too. She’s the clever kind of protagonist, also headstrong, but not as bad as the protagonist from Library Wars: Love & War 1. She’s pretty as well, not that she notices, and which I find rare in a lot of shojo manga, since most of the protagonists feel that they’re too plain, too short, or just too-not-good-enough, which after awhile, gets really annoying. But Fuyuki is not like that. In fact, I really like her character. She’s great! Considering that she constantly runs into trouble while working with the police force, but she knows that Kuze will come for her, as well as the fact that she’s capable of handling herself in most situations. What’s more, I’m curious about her character, since there has been little revealed about her character in comparison to Kuze’s. I reckon later on, there might be several chapters that’ll reveal more about Fuyuki’s background rather than just the bits and pieces that I’ve seen so far. I get that there’s more to her background than what I’ve seen so far, and I’m curious!

Kuze> I love Kuze too! And it’s NOT a fangirl crush. I love Kuze’s compatibility with Fuyuki. He’s a hard person, who rarely shows emotion because of his past, and because well, it’s a bother. He tends to sleep alot after not sleeping for several days, and every time Fuyuki goes looking for him, he manages to grab her and put her in a compromising position at the worst time (usually when the rest of the team bursts in, but he never intends anything beyond stopping her from being annoying). Kuze also is very gentle with Fuyuki, and while he’s not rude to everyone else, it’s more like he skips all things polite and just gets straight to the point, which generally leaves people a little shocked and uneasy. I like Kuze because he’s got a little more stuffing that 80% of the male love interests in shojo manga.

Kuze & Fuyuki> Where I’m up to, they’re still not together yet. I cannot wait until they get together, because there is just so much chemistry between them. From the beginning to that point, Kuze and Fuyuki have (view spoiler) and are very close. They do argue, but not that much, rather, it’s Fuyuki doing something impulsive, and Kuze chasing her, then making sure she gets out safe, and then tending to her. He does scold her, but like an older brother to a younger sister. And I like that their relationship is one of those where both parties clearly like each other, and at some degree the guy has shown some possession over the girl, and cause the girl like him, lets him, but neither have actually admitted their feelings for the other yet, or at least they haven’t passed the stage of being something beyond friends/partners.

Supporting characters> It’s hard to say much, since the recurring characters are those on the team (but compared to Kuze and Fuyuki, their roles are significantly minor) and Kuze’s family. Both parties of people show up, but at the same time (where I’m up to) haven’t played as big a role as the two main protagonist.

The Setting
Japan.

Writing/Artwokr
Good writing, but a bit plain. It’s the action, I feel, that’s the real draw here.
Artwork. It’s not terrible, and I’m probably more leaning towards pretty drawing, since it’s definitely pleasant to look at.

Overall
I really want to finish this manga, but since I’m reading online this time, there are only 19 chapters up. I’m dying to finish it, I really love Fuyuki&Kuze. I love the mysteries, and really, I want to know more about Fuyuki, there’s a mystery around her character.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

