Sea. Heidi R. Kling


6482981Sea
by Heidi R. Kling

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Sooo Sienna is still having nightmares from when her mother died three years ago. It makes her afraid of the Sea and flying. But when her father surprises her with a ticket to Indonesia to help out with an orphanage looking after children from the tsunami, she isn’t so sure until she realises she could be helping others even though she can’t quite yet help herself.

In Indonesia though she meets a boy named Deni who has his own sufferings. Can she help him?

So hesitation…hesitation…hesitation. I did not want to pick up this book in the first place. I might read romances but they have been worse of late, particularly YA. So I was hesitant. But then it was a choice of reading this book or another one which sounded the same…more promising premise…possibly very disappointing lusty finish. Whatever I thought. Since neither seemed great.

Several hours later
This was not what I expected! Okay so I kinda want to cut the cover into tiny pieces because it is sooo deceiving. But I can’t because it’s the library’s book.

Heidi R. Kling writes a beautiful novel about the tragedy of the 2005 Tsunami in Indonesia. Her character, Sienna though a little wimpy to begin with grows as she experiences more and more of the extent of the tragedy.

I loved how the focus was not entirely on the ‘couple’ but on the disaster.

It is beautifully written.

(view spoiler)

I think this is a great book that mixes fiction with fact. Kling sets the scene well and as a reader, you actually feel as though you were there.

Three stars because according to goodreads it means ‘I liked it’ which I did. It could have been four stars on another scale because it was well written, had an interesting protag, well developed plot, and I did not feel as though her time (the protag’s) was rushed when she was with Deni in Aceh.

As for other books similar to this, I would have to say that once I finished this one, North of Beautiful by Justine Chen Headley was the first to come into my mind. Although they couldn’t be anymore different. I think the gradual unfolding of events that lead the development of the protagonist was what put me in mind of that book particularly.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

