The Weight.

I can’t breathe to save my life,

But as you fall

From heavens above,

Like a drop of water,

Falling straight down,

Unwavering in the descent,

Untouched by the wind,

I lie in wait,

Unable to breathe,

The breath squeezed from my chest,

I can’t breathe to save my life,

Watching the fall

Of wingless bird,

That does not struggle

From her fate,

But merely taking

All the weight,

Of a painful burden.

I can’t breathe to save my life,

But I feel the burden in my chest,

Weighing down with regret,

As I watch a bird

And angel, merge as one,

Falling,

Falling,

Falling,

To where I lay,

Unable to breathe,

Unable to save myself,

And yet,

Somehow I strive forward,

With arms, figurative

Open wide,

Flinging away the weight,

From you and I.

I can’t breathe to save my life,

But for you,

Altruistic and kind,

I will catch your burden,

Take it from you,

And save you,

When I know,

I cannot breathe to save my life.

4 thoughts on “The Weight.

Leave a Reply

