The Moon and More. Sarah Dessen.


16101126The Moon and More
by Sarah Dessen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Like all the other books written by Sarah Dessen, this has everything, the moon and more! Look I won’t lie, the beginning was slow, but I had plenty of expectations, most of which didn’t look like they would be met…and then, I dunno when, but everything seemed to hit Emaline and therefore me, all at once, and I was like whoa! I seriously think Dessen has done it again. Although I doubted Emaline at first, especially when Theo came into the picture, and Luke went out, not that I liked either of them…but as it got more and more obvious about Theo’s personality, I started to like this more and more…because well, Emaline started to see it, and I liked the tension. Really, I think this one needs more time than other novels by Dessen to really get into, but it’s worth reading! Definitely enjoyable! A great read of self discovery and human expectations – kind of reminds me of Great Expectations just not as Dickensian :P!

The Plot
Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough.

Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby.

Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby?

Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?

Sarah Dessen’s devoted fans will welcome this story of romance, yearning, and, finally, empowerment. It could only happen in the summer.

This is the premise on the back of the book. Surprisingly on the back of my copy from the library, “Emaline” was spelt completely and utterly wrong, compared to the inside of the book. Surprise, I wonder if the publisher realised that?

The Characters
Emaline: It took me awhile to get into you and to agree with you, you were, honestly, a little boring to begin with. But when the action started happening, and the conflicts started churning in you mind between you and Theo, you and your father, you and everyone else, I really started understanding your character, and in the end, I liked you better for it. Especially when you make your own choices, not because someone said they knew better than you, but because it was what you wanted!
Theo: Can I please smack some sense into your big fat head? I feel like Dessen has made a supervillian out of this poor boy, like Jason from The Truth About Forever, but I guess it’s fair enough to say that this kind of person does exist. Theo is all about “the best” everything and has assumed everything will go according to plan. He also has that presumptive attitude when he’s going out with Emaline, saying this is that and that is this, and that she missed out on that, so it sucks? It really pissed me off that he had such an attitude, it’s not like Emaline couldn’t go to the college of her first choice if she hadn’t wanted to just because her father couldn’t pull through. She still could’ve, yet she chose to go to another college, and for Theo to say she’s missing out, or that she doesn’t know what’s good for her because she’s only lived in a small town all her life, is plan stupid. I hate people like that. I’m sure Emaline knew what she was doing and was doing what suited her, if she wasn’t she could never be happy. So I was so glad when everything snowballed on Theo’s head. That was the best part!!
Supporting characters: love them all. They’re all individuals with their own individual stories that I loved hearing about and seeing.

Setting
Colby, somewhere in the US.

Writing
As expected of Dessen, lovely, emotive, and plain so it’s easy to devour.

Overall
I actually liked this latest novel better than What Happened to Goodbye but still not as much as Just Listenand The Truth About Forever. It is though, another great novel but a great YA author, full of coming of age themes with a splash of romance and definitely another journey of self-discovery.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “The Moon and More. Sarah Dessen.

  1. Great review! I agree that Theo was a jerk but I think Dessen crafted him in that way so Emaline’s character could grow by getting over him. This one wasn’t as splendid as Just Listen or The Truth About Forever for me either, but it was still a fabulous read.

    • Thank you! Yeah, I felt that was why she created him that way too. Reminds me a bit of Jason from The Truth About Forever. Poor guy, a villain for the sake of someone else’s success, haha, oh well.
      But yes, it was still a great read!

Leave a Reply

