Reached. Ally Condie.


Reached (Matched, #3)Reached
by Ally Condie

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Omg I am gobsmacked. I can’t believe I hadn’t read this earlier. Then again, I thinking reading this book was all about timing. I just happened to go camping, so obviously no electricity, old fashioned all the way. And therefore paperbacks were the way to go. And this happened to be the first one that I read out of the four I bought with me for the 10 day trip. And I was literally gobsmacked.

First of all I didn’t hate this series entirely despite my negative (partly) reactions to the other two.

I loved Matched for the simplicity and beauty to which Ally Condie approached Ky and Cassia’s relationship. I loved it so much I would have died for it. But my opinion of the rest was pretty half-half. I didn’t have much opinion at all.

I loved Ally Condie’s writing more in Crossed. I think I didn’t have much opinion on the switching POV’s or the long, extended catch up between Cassia and Ky. I did love the ending. That was the only reason why I wanted to read Reached anyway. But still it was long for a small book.

And as for Reached, I loved everything. I loved Cassia and Ky. I loved Xander’s voice (even if still, I wasn’t really convinced between the three main characters of their different voices since they, sometimes, sounded the same to me). I loved the plot line. I loved the action, the slow moments, their fears, their loves. I really felt each character and I loved each one for their strength. I loved that Cassia and Ky are firm in their relationship, and I love that they are realistic about it.

This is like Mockingjay for me. This was the best of the three. If I were to shelf this, I would shelf the first and the third book. Because this is better than the Hunger Games. It was strong with it’s themes (ones that weren’t really strong in the other two, but really came into its own in this one). I really, truly, loved this. I could not put it down. I couldn’t stop flipping the pages. And more importantly. Even right now, while I’m halfway through Pandemonium (Delirium #2) by Lauren Oliver (who I’ve praised for her writing, and who’s book – Delirium I really enjoyed, and even recommended to others over Matched)- Reached outshines it. It outshined Veronica Roth‘s sequel Insurgent and Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick. Both books are sequels of others I’ve read, and to come extent enjoyed. And both were nothing compared to Reached. I think, and Ally Condie, thank you so much for the ride, since, the third book was worth reading so much. I really enjoyed it. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

View all my reviews

 

3 thoughts on “Reached. Ally Condie.

    • Oh yeah…haha, well it’s my personal opinion. I mean I loved Divergent heaps, so I felt Insurgent was a bit of let down (but still good, only it was hard for me to get over Tris’s recklessness, when over all, it all does make sense….if I’m making any sense at all). I loved Reached because for me, it felt like a perfect ending. Even though it was long, all the ties were tied together, and the writing…omg, the writing was just right in this one. It’s definitely worth reading the first two for! (But of course, this is my own personal opinion πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

