Random Music Moment #92

This is one of my old favourites, a song that I think has strange lyrics, yet, I really love the way it sounds.  Is that strange?  Ever since I started posting RMM’s I’ve become more and more aware of the lyrics of songs and I’m always surprised when I read them.  Especially when they are so different to the way they sound!

Feasting on sleeping pills
and Marlboro Reds.
(so busy won’t save you)

Oh how our parents
they suffered for nothing
Live the dream, live the dream, live the dream
Like the 80s never happened.
People are afraid, are afraid
To merge on the freeway.
Disappear here

Stroll the pier
into the magazine launch party.
I am handed a pill,
and I swallow with complete disdain.
Kick-drum bangs off the high-hat;
Remember to look bored.
We suck each others’ faces,
and make sure we are noticed.

(Cocaine won’t save you)
Because East London is a vampire,
it sucks the joy right out of me
How we long for corruption in these golden years.

 

Today’s Random Music Moment : Song for Clay by Bloc Party

Leave a Reply

