Random Music Moment #82

Omg this is sooooo weird!!  Okay, so I was bored today, now that the semester is over, I can take it easy with the final essays and basically chill out in a very bored-student-procrastinating-style by watching random vids on Youtube!  And I came across “Nightcore”.  Now I thought it was a band.  Then I looked it up, and found that it is apparently a genre of music…and then I looked on google and I came across this particular page: CLICK LINKY

I think this has to be one of the most entertaining pages I’ve read in a long time.  The first post, the person who posted, actually looks at other peoples comments and comments in this way… (The guy who posted is not FargoDog or GiantRaven but the lines in bold)

FargoDog:
Huh. So it’s like techno.

Except really, really fucking annoying.

Again, I feel my techno overdosing on LSD or speed comparison fits in nicely.

GiantRaven:
So what I gather is that this is a genre of music that involves taking a complete song written by somebody else and shifting the pitch and BPM up a little.

Creativity at it’s very finest. How utterly depressing.

I think there are better examples that actually change stuff and remix it… but yeah, that’s the just of it.

Sooooo there’s more including an explanation of what “Nightcore” is:

A song that is labeled as “Nightcore” is one that has been modified from an original song – it differs from that song in that its tempo and pitch has been raised. These levels are usually around 20-30%, and are raised simultaneously.
A coined term for Nightcore is that it is a raise of speed and pitch. Although this is commonly used, it is not correct, since the very definition of “speed” is a combination of both tempo and pitch. Therefore, “Nightcore” can be seen as a glorified term for “speed edit”.

For more check it out here and here

 

And here’s the song of the day, titled “Nightcore – Angel with a shotgun” a Nightcore rendition of The Cab‘s “Angel With A Shotgun”.

And for the original :

 

Leave a Reply

