Dead Beat. Dresden Files #7. Jim Butcher.


Dead Beat (The Dresden Files, #7)Dead Beat
by Jim Butcher

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

So it’s been a long time since I properly enjoyed a good book. It’s been even longer since I read my last Dresden files sequel. So I figured I’d take a break (at the most crucial of my 12 weeks of intense university studies :P) and read Dead Beat. I needed the break. Hell, I needed to read something that was not dense and convoluted and eye-crossing. What else than read Jim Butcher?
But bloody hell, it was sooooo entirely worth it. My friend has read up to the latest sequel and it was him who introduced me to the series. His favourite part of the entire series is the witty writing. Of course that’s second to the developing major arc (which, by god, took forever to get to. Man, there are how many books?) which I’m starting to see hints of in the book.
Let me demonstrate some wittiness that will blow even your socks off (unless your not wearing socks):


Kumori held up a hand. ‘This is no deception, Dresden. The world is changing. The Council’s end is near, and those who wish to survive it must act now. Before it is too late.’

I took a deep breath. ‘Normally I’m the first one to suggest we t.p. the Council’s house,’ I said. ‘But you’re talking about necromancy. Black magic. You aren’t going to convince me that the Council and the Wardens have suddenly gotten a yen to trot down the left-hand path. They won’t touch the stuff.’

‘Ideally,’ Cowl said. ‘You are young, Dresden. And you have much to learn.’

‘You know what young me has learned? Not to spend too much time listening to the advice of people who want to get something out of me,’ I said. ‘Which includes car salesmen, political candidates, and weirdos in black capes who mug me on the street in the middle of the night.’

Now it’s been a while since I’ve been amused by a character’s commentary. But this just gets better and better. And what’s more, I love dogs, so this got me aww-ing haha.


‘What did you do?’

‘I ran around outside of the museum. I tried to find help, but with all the rain and the dark there wasn’t anyone around. So I ran to the car and got Mouse. I thought that maybe he could help you.’

‘He could,’ I agreed. ‘He did.’

Mouse’s tail thumped on the floor, and he kept on licking at my head. I realized, dully, that he was cleaning the dozens of tiny snakebites.

And of course, who doesn’t love a bit of bad-ass illegal necromancy on the anti-hero of the day where it’s nothing much to call up and animate the dead tyrannosaur skeleton in the museum, name it Sue and well, run through town, crushing a few police trucks along the way. For Harry Dresden, well there’s nothing to it!


‘Get out of the way, fools!’ I screamed.

The two men dove for cover. Sue’s foot crashed down onto the hood of one Hummer, crushing it to the asphalt, and then we were past the checkpoint and pounding our way down the street toward Evanston.

‘Heh,’ I said, looking back over my shoulder. ‘I’d love to hear how they explain that to their CO.’

‘You crushed that truck!’ Butters shouted. ‘You’re like a human wrecking ball!’ There was a thoughtful pause, and then he said, ‘Hey, are we going anywhere near my boss’s place? Because he just won’t shut up about his new Jaguar.’

The Plot
When a killer vampire threatens to destroy head of Special Investigations Karrin Murphy‘s reputation unless Harry delivers the powerful Word of Kemmler to her, he has no choice. Now Harry is in a race against time to find the Word before Chicago experiences a Halloween night to wake the dead.

Bleh the premise does nothing. This book is 500 pages long, so you can expect that there’s more to it than just that. It’s funny though, it’s a very good summary. But there are so many subplots going on, I’m not surprised each is getting bigger and bigger :O.

The Characters
Oh Harry Dresden, oh Harry Dresden. His wit is all you need. Well, Butcher’s wrote an interesting character and it just makes it all the more enjoyable. The other accompanying characters are also very interesting, especially the development of “Butters” the mortician. He’s very scared of everything, loves polka, and finds things hard to believe, but by the end, he’s develped so much, he’s become a loveable character!

Setting
Chicago. But seriously, I felt like I was there, and that I’d lived there long enough to know my way around even though I’ve never been there in my entire life! Okay, so that was a little bit of an exaggeration, but! the way it’s been written, it’s in that style where the setting is familiar to the author, therefore also familiar to the main character, therefore, there aren’t many addition descriptions.

Writing
Butcher’s writing is amusing. It’s also very easy to read and enjoyable!

Overall
So, this has made me psyched for the next one. It also had the effect of changing my entire perspective on the whole series. I hate that it took so long to get to the “interesting” parts, but it got me there, and I award myself the medal of obstinate willpower, because it’s ridiculous that I’m only just not getting overly ecstatic about a book, particularly a sequel. And worse, it’s number 7!!! I’m so close to catching up, and I’m only just getting excited??? Well I guess that’s the downside. The upside, when it does get this interesting, then hell, I have a very good feeling that I won’t be able to put the ones that follow down at all. Well, enjoy!! This is a worthy read!

View all my reviews

7 thoughts on “Dead Beat. Dresden Files #7. Jim Butcher.

    • Hmmm which one was Fool Moon again? Was it the one with werewolves? Haha it’s been a while. It’s not that I found the earlier ones boring, I just found them interesting but you know the type of mildly interesting that engaged me, but didn’t suck me in completely.

Leave a Reply

