Random Music Moment #73

Ah this was probably the highlight year for me.  I remember this year the best.  After such an amazing stage presence with Finland’s winner in 2006, the big Serbian song and first-song-other-than-English-for-a-long-time to win in 2007, and the simple big-voiced song winner in 2008, and then in 2009, we have the charming, young Alexander Ryback from Norway!  Seriously, this song was catchy, well-sung, interesting, with a seriously young front man.

What’s interesting about this song is that it’s based off Norwegian folklore.  It’s about the Huldra, a beautiful female creature that lures young men to her and then curses them.  Sounds like a Siren or Succubus to me!

Lyrics:

Years ago, when I was younger
I kinda liked, a girl I knew
She was mine, and we were sweethearts
That was then, but then it’s true

I’m in love, with a fairytale
Even though it hurts
Coz I don’t care if I lose my mind
I’m already cursed

Full Lyrics HERE

But the funny thing is, when I listened to the lyrics of this song, I thought about the fairytales I knew and I also thought about the perspectives of love.  Funny how something so irrelevantly relevant could pop up and wah-la, connection of an international level.  And the schema is completely different!

Amazing, isn’t it?

I wonder…well, anyway!  Please enjoy today’s RMM, not long now to the next Eurovision!!! The winner of the 2009 Eurovision Song ContestFairytale by Alexander Rybak.

6 thoughts on “Random Music Moment #73

    • Really? I agree, it is one of my favourite winning performances, and I think that was also one of the best years of Eurovision I’ve seen! Curiosity has caught me in it’s claws, why do you think it’s the best winning song, if you don’t mind me asking?:?

Leave a Reply

