Random Music Moment #65

Omg!  This is it guys!  My final countdown!  Though the first time I remembered and dated the winning song of the winning year, I decided to start a couple of years earlier.  I have two reasons for this, 1) I remember looking at the map the year after this particular song won, and wondered why it was in Equador, South America, considering it was a European show after all.  It was a little while later that I realised, the winning country had not been Equador but Estonia!  Lol, how interesting age can be in playing a role, manipulating the memory.  I was pretty young, so I’m not surprised I was wrong.  Still, shocking considering the geography.

So today’s Random Music Moment is the winner of the 2001 Eurovision Song Contest.  It was from Estonia, performed in English by Tanel Padar and David Benton featuring 2XL.

A couple of interesting facts about this winning song.  1) David Benton was the oldest contestant to win the contest and 2) he was the first, dare I say it? and I will say I quoted it from Wikipedia, so don’t rag on me! Benton was the first black  contestant to win.   [I apologise if I offend anyone, but filling that spot with euphemisms….I’d feel, would make it worse.]

 

Everybody by Tanel Padar and Dave Benton

Leave a Reply

