When We Were Together.

For a friend…

*

When we were together,

All I could do was cry.

If we were in love,

Why was I more miserable,

Than happy?

When we were together,

I was the one always waiting,

Dressed prettily,

For only you.

I wanted you to ask me out,

To go on a date,

To spend some time.

If we were in love,

Where were you all the time?

I’m not a clingy person.

I don’t want to take all your space,

But you’re supposed to love me,

You’re supposed to show me you care.

Don’t leave me behind,

Like an old dish rag.

When we were together,

I told you I love you,

And you always said “Me too.”

If we were in love,

Then you should have said

At least once,

“I love you,”

Then maybe,

You would have deserved my trust.

When we were together,

I defended you,

When everyone else,

Said bad things behind you.

Because we were together,

I defended you,

But you didn’t deserve that trust.

You didn’t even trust me,

Not even thinking,

About whether or not,

I needed to be trusted.

If we were in love,

I shouldn’t have had to.

You wouldn’t need to be defended,

Because your eyes,

Wouldn’t even think,

About betraying me.

When we were together,

You never looked at me properly.

If we were in love,

Then you should have cherished me.

I may not be a doll,

Not porcelain,

Not china.

But I am a girl,

With a heart and feelings,

That will break and hurt,

Even though you don’t see it.

You should know,

I am—

Was,

Your girlfriend.

When we were together,

There weren’t all bad memories,

That I will give you.

If we were in love,

Then all my memories,

Would have been happy,

But now it’s ended.

I am so glad,

Because I won’t cry anymore,

I won’t stress anymore,

Won’t send pointless messages,

Under the pretense of a relationship.

I am so glad this has ended,

Because,

When we were together,

We were never in love.

2 thoughts on “When We Were Together.

  1. Truthfully said .Such a boyfriend you don’t need.Your are so sincere and so sweet.Take care .Great poem.jalal

Leave a Reply

