“The Friday Society” by Adrienne Kress.


The Friday SocietyThe Friday Society
by Adrienne Kress

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

So I had fun reading this. I loved the whole girl hero idea, and I liked that it was steampunk. I liked the men and the setting and scenario. It all could have been better but I still had a fun ride. Love the Cover.

Characters
Cora, Nellie, Michiko > Great characters, love their differences, love how they bond together.

The Men > Interesting and predictable love interests. It’s sad what happens to one of them (though he’s more of a male friend than a love interest), and one of them was predictable.

Setting
Turn of the Century London, awesome. Nothing else for it.

Writing
Good. I had no problems with it. Easy to read, easy to relate to. I guess my only peeve about it, is that there wasn’t much “Time” lingo, so it felt pretty much contemporary half the time. In saying that though, it does make it easier to read. The chapter titles are the best! I love how Adrienne Kress comes up with the most interesting titles. Such as: Just Your Average Turn-of-the-Century Slumber Party with a Dead Body OR You Know How It Is. OR: And What Has Cora Been Up to This Whole Time?

Overall
Read it, it’s a fun light read (I consider it light since I didn’t feel pressured to cry or pressured to feel some intense anxiety). It’s humorous and funny. Each character is unique. I would have liked to see more of Michiko but she was pretty wicked fighting and all (even if it was a bit stereotypical, it was still cool). I wonder if there is a sequel?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

