Avatar: the Last Airbender; Avatar: the Legend of Korra.

It has just come to my attention, and honestly I cannot believe that it only occurred to me now, but I have yet to write a post on the world’s best, possible most amazing anime (I guess I call it that for the moment, I’ll explain duly) in the world!!

Okay, firstly, I am not exaggerating, Avatar: the Last Airbender and Avatar: the Legend of Korra are seriously wicked.  It cannot be avoided.  It must be watched!

Now let me explain why.  Firstly, Avatar: the Legend of Aang came first.  Then came Avatar: the Legend of Korra.  Secondly, it’s an animation but hell it’s not just one for kids, I can certainly vouch that teenagers and young adults will love this too!  But I can’t vouch for adults, though they might enjoy it.  And thirdly, the characters are so blooody cool!

Let see, let’s go back in history.  Ah!  I remember, the first time I ever watched Avatar was when I was in early high school, I think.  At that point since I just moved to my new house, I didn’t really have any friends, so I stayed at home and watched a lot of tv.  Now, as childish as it was, there was really nothing on in the hours between 4 and 5 so I tended to watch the ABC network, lol, lame I know, but hell, I was still a kid!  But, and I’ll say this because it was totally worth it, but, at 5 on the hour, it began.  This kid’s show that opened with anime-like images and dramatic music inferring that something drastically amazing must be happening, and I waited.  I watched, and listened, and then watched the whole twenty-five minutes.  And I was completely sucked in.  But of course, with shows and books alike, the first always begins great, and then the rest that follow generally get worse, unless it’s popular, and you know there will be wacky twists and turns, so I was hesitant.  But still I turned on the tv the next day at the same time, and I waited.  I did it again and again and again, until, until, it ended.  I won’t say I cried, because that’s just lame.  I was devastated!  Every part of me wanted more and more of Aang’s wacky antics, Sokka‘s humour, Katara‘s feminine strength, Zuko‘s fierceness (I’ll admit that I did have a series crush on Zuko at that point in time, also I wanted him to end up with Katara, funny as it seems, I mean they even have a few sweet moments later on, but overall, I do like how the series ended).  I wanted more!  But I knew, I just knew I had to wait.

The next year, I missed it.  I missed it because it was on at the worst possible time and again I missed it the next year.  But I have to say, it took a while for me to finally finish the entire series, but when I did I was certainly five years older (I know such a big time break, what happened?  Haha all I’ll say is that life got a bit hectic), and I still loved it.  It goes to show, if you can still love something five years later, then the first impression was seriously no joke, right?

Opening title

Now, Avatar the Last Airbender (or where in Europe, Avatar: the Legend of Aang) goes like this:

Water. Earth. Fire. Air. Only the Avatar was the master of all four elements. Only he could stop the ruthless Fire Nation from conquering the world. But when the world needed him most, he disappeared. Until now… On the South Pole, a lone Water Tribe village struggles to survive. It’s here that a young Waterbender named Katara and her warrior brother Sokka rescue a strange boy named Aang from a cavernous iceberg. Not only is Aang an Airbender–a race of people no one has seen in a century–but they soon discover that Aang is also the long lost Avatar. Now it’s up to Katara and Sokka to make sure Aang faces his destiny to save the tribe–and himself. Did we mention he’s only 12?

– Taken from  http://nicktoons.nick.com/shows/avatar/about

This is for those who haven’t seen it.  And also, it’s the opening intro of every episode.  It is the ultimate kids show, with adventure, magic, fantasy and humour.  Who wouldn’t love it?

Opening Sequence

A demonstration of the four elements.  Since the series is set in an asian setting, the magic is martial arts based.  It’s really cool that each element operates using a different form of martial arts.  If you’re a Waterbender, you use tai chi.  If you’re an Earthbender, you use Hung Gar.  If you’re a Firebender, you use Northern Shaolin.  And if you’re an Airbender then you use Ba Gua.  When I found this out, I was really fascinated.  Just as when I found out about all the other little intricacies of the show that were about the world building.  I can;t help watching the ‘Bonus Features’ section when I watched the DVD, because there’s always so much interesting stuff to learn.  I know for some of my friends, they just enjoy watching the series or the movie, but I think the other stuff is interesting too.

This world created by Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko is incredibly in-depth and pretty damn solid.  It’s definitely up there with all the greats, with an amazing world and likable (also hateable) characters.  It really makes you appreciate how much effort people place in their creations.

What’s more this series was so popular, it has a sequel – Avatar: The Legend of Korra.  This time it’s about the next Avatar, an Earthbender named Korra.  Though unlike Aang who only knew Airbending and had only a short amount of time to learn the other elements, Korra mastered Earthbending, Firebending and Waterbending with ease.  She just can’t Airbend.

Republic City is everything that Avatar Aang and Fire Lord Zuko fought for when they ended the Hundred Year War. With balance restored to the four nations, benders and non-benders can live together in peace, in this thriving metropolitan area. But even the steampunk paradise of Republic City has its problems, as the next Avatar discovers. When Avatar Korra arrives in Republic City to master her airbending, …

– Taken from http://www.nick.com/shows/legend-of-korra/

I’m really ecstatic about this series!  The first season was pretty damn good, though I do have to admit, it’s not as great as the first episode of Avatar: The Last Airbender.  There are a few things that annoyed me, but I still loved it!  It has the same adventurous atmosphere, cast of cool and funny characters as well as a few idiotic ones along the way, and Korra.  Korra is what I love about this one, I mean, I loved Katara before, but Korra, Korra is not only her on person, she’d stubborn and rough, hardly girly at all.  She’s also the Avatar, who has so much to learn about being the Avatar.  It’s great watching her grow, though sometimes I really think she is a bit selfish.  What’s more, though I don’t think it’s a bad thing, but the Legend of Korra has a little more romance than its predecessor.

I cannot wait for the next series.

As for The Last Airbender the movie, I was disappointed, it was disappointing.  After watching it, I really did think they should have gotten asian actors for the part.  It was okay, but it’s nothing compared to the original.  Maybe they should have done it like the Tintin movie?  Using motion capture rather than live action…I think I wouldn’t have disliked it as much.  Oh well.

So, to end this little rant I will say this, enjoy;

Sokka, Avatar the Last Airbender, seriously the funniest and most sarcastic character ever.

Quote;

Sokka: “I’m too young to die!

Old fisherman: “I’m not but I still don’t wanna!”

One thought on “Avatar: the Last Airbender; Avatar: the Legend of Korra.

Leave a Reply

