Life. A Rant.

When we are babes, all wrinkly and goop covered, we know nothing about life.  It is a mystery.  It is another word for ‘living’.  The opposite of death.  A word that can be paired with ‘essence’.  It is us and we are it.  It is our health bar on video games.  It deteriorates the more we lose the game.  It is alien.

And then we grow up.  We live.

We grow in body and soul.  We cry, we laugh, make friends and enemies, finds hates and loves.  We get overconfident.  We get unconfident.  We achieve.  We fail.  We try some new things and shy away from others.  And we fall.

Sometimes the burdens of what is called life are too much.  Sometimes we lose hope, giving into despair.  It crushes us, oppresses us, isolates us.  We feel hopeless, useless.  We want nothing, like nothing, feel nothing.  We are nothing.

But then some light guides us in the darkness, whether it comes straight away or after a long time, it guides us away from the darkness.  The light embraces us with the love that we know.  It gives us ambition, hope and purpose.

And we stand up again.  We push away the darkness and grab onto the light’s tail.  We will face life’s trials, one after another, no matter how long we are under the darkness.  We will prevail.  Even if some of us can’t.  We push on.  We are not afraid.  We will face every obstacle because we want to live.  We want to live so bad for those we love. We will even live for our enemies, for the fight, the revenge, for the satisfaction of the game of cat and mouse.

We live.

And then we are old.  We are wrinkly and gnarly.  Our hair is grey and our eyes a paler shade then what they used to be.  We smile over our photo albums and tell funny stories about those we love.  Our children love us.  Our grandchildren love us.  We are loved.  We are happy.  We may have a few regrets, not many though, so we are happy.

We dated the men we liked.  We married the man we loved.  We got our dream job after many tries and failures.  We changed our looks (looking away when it’s a disaster).  We made many friends and maybe a few enemies.  We went around the world, around the country, or even around our own backyard.  It’s been an adventure.  It’s been a life well lived.  And we are ready to say goodbye.

This is life.

3 thoughts on “Life. A Rant.

  1. A few months before this post was written, I began developing a game that strives to teach very similar lessons in metaphorical and meaningful ways. When I found this months later I was stunned, as it seemed you as a writer were connected to the same revelations and ideas I had encountered while learning lessons through years of Depression. I thought perhaps you had maybe gone through the same or similar growth, and I wanted to thank you for bringing these ideas into the beautiful words they deserve to be described with to help others. ‘This is Life’ is something I say often when I’m experiencing bliss, contentment, and revelations of understanding of this chaotic and sometimes unintelligible world we live in. ‘This is Life’ seems to be the only words that can fully describe the beauty within our realms that many take for granted, including myself many times. If you’d like to see a teaser for this game titled ‘LifeEssence’ I’d gladly share it with you. It’s about a young Man struggling with Mental Illness, Identity Issues, and many other things (I’m not specific as I’d like the player to relate and think) and he falls into a land known as Trium. A place of immense intrigue and mystery. He encounters characters made of shadow and these characters show him how they became who they are. The game is a Journey of self-discovery, a search for Peace and Contentment, and a Lesson in Hope, Duality, and many other things. I will provide the link to the page in the ‘website’ section below. Thank you for your work here.

  2. (hopefully fixed link)

    A few months before this post was written, I began developing a game that strives to teach very similar lessons in metaphorical and meaningful ways. When I found this months later I was stunned, as it seemed you as a writer were connected to the same revelations and ideas I had encountered while learning lessons through years of Depression. I thought perhaps you had maybe gone through the same or similar growth, and I wanted to thank you for bringing these ideas into the beautiful words they deserve to be described with to help others. ‘This is Life’ is something I say often when I’m experiencing bliss, contentment, and revelations of understanding of this chaotic and sometimes unintelligible world we live in. ‘This is Life’ seems to be the only words that can fully describe the beauty within our realms that many take for granted, including myself many times. If you’d like to see a teaser for this game titled ‘LifeEssence’ I’d gladly share it with you. It’s about a young Man struggling with Mental Illness, Identity Issues, and many other things (I’m not specific as I’d like the player to relate and think) and he falls into a land known as Trium. A place of immense intrigue and mystery. He encounters characters made of shadow and these characters show him how they became who they are. The game is a Journey of self-discovery, a search for Peace and Contentment, and a Lesson in Hope, Duality, and many other things. I will provide the link to the page in the ‘website’ section below. Thank you for your work here.

    • Hello Anthony! Thank you for commenting. Depression is word that is pretty new to the English language, yet it probably has been around for a long time. I have been through periods of depression, but never anything severe. In the last few years or so, I’ve been rather down on life, especially now I’m at major crossroad, trying to decide whether I should go left or right. When I wrote this piece I wanted to inspire people like me, who at that moment were suffering from that. Who can’t pinpoint their identity and what they won’t. Your game sounds very interesting, and I shall take the time to have a look. Thank you again for commenting and telling me your story.

Leave a Reply

