Ouran High School Host Club.

Ahhh…who can withstand the ridiculous antics of Ouran High School Host Club?

The Host Club dressed as caterers. From left t...

The Host Club dressed as caterers. From left to right: Takashi “Mori”, Mitsukuni “Honey”, Haruhi, Kaoru, Hikaru, Tamaki and Kyoya (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I certainly can’t.  It’s been a year since I last read the manga.  You’d think I’d not look at it again since I have that bad habit of generally reading things once.  Well, I think for a while now that whole read it once thing is getting old.  I mean I noticed it last year too.  There were times I found a book I absolutelyy freaking loved! – and I had to reread it again.  Normal.  Only of course such an event was rare since my TBR pile is alway so freeaking big there never was time to read a book again unless I owned it.  Plus all the uni work and my own writing meant my schedule for stuff like rereading kind of limited.

But this year, I don’t know, I think I’m getting sentimental, or maybe it’s because I’m a year older, I just had to go back remind myself why I loved certain books.

Ouran High School Host Club.  I revisited this entire series because I wanted to watch the anime.  I mean sure it had great reviews  but when I first picked up OHSHC I was like, whaaa? reverse harem?.  It didn’t make any sense to me, but still I wanted to read manga, since well, I finally had the time to trawl through hundreds of chapters, plus I was already up to the latest chapter of Naruto so I needed something else to read.  OHSHC had awesome reviews, and after reading it I totally know why!  So I went ahead and picked up.

So Haruhi is a girl who dresses as a guy to be a part of the OHSHC so that she can back the 8 million yen renaissance vase she broke by accident on her first day at Ouran High School, school of some of the most prestigious and wealthiest Japanese children.  Oh yeah, did I mention Haruhi’s poor?

Huh, sounds kind of fascinating right?

I would have rolled my eyes at Tamaki’s antics if I hadn’t already fallen in love with the entire concept and plot and story and the characters.  I swear Bisco Hatori is a genius.  She seriously knew how to work her readers with her plots and characters.  Seriously, Tamaki is an idiot, and yet he still comes across as loveable and full of personality.  I love Haruhi’s dry humour, the twin’s twinniness, Honey and Mori, and Kyoya’s coolness.

All of which, the anime reminded me of.  I don’t know how Hatori came up with these characters, but everything is so well-done I can’t just help but fawn over the awesomeness of this series!

 Hatori really brings out each character.  She doesn’t over embellish, and I never feel she wastes a scene.  Hell I’m not even a manga expert, but still I recognise a good, even if a bit silly, plot, series.

Omg, I’m sounding like a fangirl.  The funny thing is I’m fangirling about the entire series rather than the super smexy boys that Hatori brought to life with her imagination.  Sigh.  This series is absolute perfection – by that I mean, it’s funny, fawn worthy and well-plotted – I am envious.

OHSHC has totally earned a place in my top ten of, you know, the whatever.  Haha.  This so worth reading if humour is what your looking for.  The anime’s pretty good too, but I was disappointed by the ending (that’s where the manga is better).

Leave a Reply

