Harry Potter…

Everyone loves the Harry Potter series.

Okay maybe that’s an exaggeration, but still a large population of the globe cannot get enough of the books.  One, probably because most of them are young adults who’d grown up with the books, assuming. Two, they’re book crazy and thus could not help but be intrigued by this sudden craze storming the world.  Three, they’re just mad enough to pick up a children’s book and read it.

Well, I probably fit in the first category.  I remember the first time the book came out.  I also remember my best friend in primary school telling me how crazy awesome the book was.  We were I don’t know probably in our 2nd or 3rd year?  I’d probably know for sure if I counted back the years, but right now I can’t be bothered.  Let’s just assume I was in 2nd or 3rd grade.  Anyway, actually I was probably a bit younger since I clearly remember mum reading the copy I borrowed from my friend to me and my brother before we went to sleep.  So maybe I was younger than 2nd grade.  I don’t anyway.  So in the beginning I just loved the craziness that was the Wizarding world.  I mean I went around the house with a cape, which I’d used for a dress up day at school, and a fairy wand (it was pink, but I broke the star of the top so it looked exactly like a real wand).

I made a broomstick (without the sticks, I used paper instead) and I fashioned myself a trunk so I could pretend I was a part of J.K. Rowling‘s world.  It was fun.  The first three books made that fun.

Then I got older and while I didn’t stop imagining things, writing things in my head or cast my fake spells, even cross the Harry Potter world with other stories of my own creation, the books grew a sense of age too.  The characters grew up at the same time and it seemed, the gap between the third and the second changed the entire series from Children/Middle Grade to a YA series.  From the fourth book on, I was reading not only for the whacky adventures of Harry Potter but for the mystery, the intrigue, the darkness and the relationships of the characters.  I loved the books even more.

I never thought J.K.Rowling would ever go in such a dark direction, but that’s what’s special about it, right?

Then comes the question, since I have no idea about, of whether it is a Children’s series or a YA.  Children wouldn’t understand the nature and depth of the last three books, would they?  And the first three are a little young for YA, not that that would stop anyone from reading them.  But the fact that this one series crosses over two (or more) genres makes it so hard to classify.  For me I’m just not going to bother.

But anyway, what I liked best about this entire series, whether or not it was written well (has been a debate, seriously it came up once in this creative writing class I took, and just as quick the topic disappeared), is that it’s creative.  And I think that’s what I loved so much about Harry Potter.  Rowling created this amazing other world and brought it to life.  It was so well thought out and I like that.  In saying so, it must have taken a lot thorough thought.

Rowling’s world is magical.  It’s unbelievable.  Even if you’re not a fan of books for kids or urban fantasy, you should just read this book for the detail it has in the creation of the Wizarding world.  It is truly unique.

It never ceases to surprise me and yet it always does whenever I read the series again.

Leave a Reply

